Boothe's 4202 Blog

How the Internet and Technology is changing Editing

Tweeting nonsense

with one comment

Case Study 7

Last November, Andy Boyle watched a couple have a disagreement at a Burger King and posted on Twitter about it.

At least 30 times he tweeted what they were saying through direct quote, paraphrase or audio recording. He also took photos.

The couple wasn’t doing anything outlandish or illegal or even wrong. There was no domestic violence or verbal abuse involved in their argument.

Yet, for some inexplicable reason, Boyle felt the urge to discreetly eavesdrop on this couple’s conversation probably well after he was finished with his Whopper and fries.

Now, there’s a lot of things my parents, teachers and just society in general have taught me about minding my own business and the values of being nice to people. Pulling a stunt like this on Twitter doesn’t feel like I would accomplish either. It would be a safe bet that if my dad saw me posting stuff like this on the internet he’d call me an idiot and tell me to go do something constructive with my time.

Nor would I feel like an ethical journalist or an adult after spending probably a good 30 to 45 minutes of my life transcribing these inconsequential events.

There are plenty of cool and useful ways to go about working with Twitter. This wasn’t one of them. It was just another way to further embarrass two people who were clearly too emotionally strung out to realize they were already making fools of themselves.

I would cringe and look away in that situation. This guy took photos.

Written by jboothe

March 21, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, but where is Twitter story?

    Ronald R. Rodgers

    March 21, 2012 at 10:13 pm


Leave a Reply

